Campeonato Petrobras 2013: Week Seventeen Review


Unión Española have been crowned champions of the Torneo de Transición after a tense final day’s action saw them maintain their goal difference advantage over Universidad Católica as both team picked up wins in a dramatic conclusion to the season.

The weekend’s action kicked off in the Estadio Nacional on Friday night with Universidad de Chile’s season coming to an end with a 2-1 loss at the hands of Rangers de Talca. Los azules opened the scoring courtesy of Isaac Díaz in the fifth minute before a brace to Sebastián Varas, who scored in the 45th and 84th minutes, ensured that the visitors finished the season on a high. The result sees La U finish the season in fifth position after challenging most of the season for the title whilst Rangers climbed to eighth at season’s end.

Audax Italiano brought a disappointing season to an end coming from two goals behind to record a 4-2 victory over Ñublense at the Estadio Bicentenario Nelson Oyarzún in Saturday’s opening match. Ñublense were 2-0 up after only seven minutes after Benjamin Ruíz and Mathias Riquero had both found the back of the net. It wasn’t until the second half that Audax got on the scoresheet with all four of their goals coming in a twenty-three minute period. Kicking off the scoring was Sebastián Sáez in the 57th minute scoring his fourteenth goal of the season in the process before Camilo Melivilú scored a brace and Gamadiel García got on the scoresheet. The result saw Ñublense finished the season in twelfth position in their return to the Primera Division whilst Audax’s fourteenth placed finish saw manager Pablo Marini lose his job.

Whilst most of the weekend’s focus was on the title race that took place on Sunday there was also a secondary race for both O’Higgins and Cobreloa to see who will qualify for the upcoming Copa Sudamericana and both teams partook in simultaneous kickoffs on Saturday afternoon. O’Higgins faced off against Unión La Calera in the Estadio Monumental whilst Cobreloa hosted Santiago Wanderers in the Estadio Bicentenario Calvo y Bascuñan. There was also a third match kicking off at the same time as these two matches as Cobresal played host to Antofagasta in the Estadio El Cobre.

In the end it was Cobreloa who qualified for the Copa Sudamericana after they defeated Santiago Wanderers 2-0 whilst O’Higgins succumbed to Unión La Calera by the solitary goal. Cobreloa’s goals came courtesy of Marcos Sebastián Pol, who scored his eleventh goal of the season, and Francisco Pizarro whilst a 72nd minute goal to Ruben Farfán was enough for La Calera to grab all three points. The win saw Cobreloa finish the season in third position whilst O’Higgins had to settle for fourth. Unión La Calera for their part finished impressively in seventh whilst Santiago Wanderers finished in ninth.

Cobresal went into their match against Antofagasta already knowing that they would be facing a relegation playoff the following week but that didn’t stop them from obtaining a confidence boosting 3-2 win. All three of their goals came in the first half with Luis Alegria opening the scoring in the fourth minute before Néstor Martinena added two more before half time. Antofagasta pulled two back after half time courtesy of Erick Pulgar and Javier Elizondo but it wasn’t enough to stop Cobresal picking up their third win of the season. The result saw Antofagasta finish the season in thirteenth position whilst Cobresal finished last on the regular season table.

Saturday’s penultimate match saw Palestino end their season with 2-0 over Huachipato in the Estadio CAP. Second half goals to Jason Silva and Jorge Guarjardo were enough for Palestino to record their fifth win of the season and allowed them to finish the season in eleventh position. Meanwhile Jorge Pellicer’s Huachipato followed up their Clausura championship with a fifteenth placed finish.

Of all the promoted teams it has been Everton that has performed the best and they capped of their return to the Primera Division with a 2-1 win over Iquique in Saturday’s final match. Iquique kicked off the scoring on the stroke off half time courtesy of Cristián Bogado before second half goals to Luciano Goux and Emiliano Romero ensured that the team from Viña del Mar would finish the season in sixth position. Meanwhile Iquique finished the season in third placed place and will be hoping that next season sees them return to the kind of form they showed in 2012.

As alluded to in our preview for this round all the focus was on Sunday’s matches featuring Unión Española and Universidad Católica with both teams going into the final round on equal points but the former had a much better goal difference.

In the end it was Unión Española who would be crowned champions after they defeated Colo Colo by a solitary goal which came courtesy of Patricio Rubio in the 73rd minute whilst Universidad Católica could only manage a 2-1 victory over the already relegated San Marcos de Arica. This meant that la furia roja would collected their seventh championship on goal difference and would go a long way to erase the memories of their loss in the 2012 Clausura final.

Both of Católica’s goals came in the second half courtesy of a Fernando López own goal and a 93rd minute Matías Mier penalty after San Marcos had opened the scoring on the stroke of half time courtesy of Cristián Bogado. The match ended in somewhat of farce with a confrontation between the two sides and in the days following los cruzados midfielder Michael Rîos accusing their opponents of receiving incentives to play better against them.

Primera Division Torneo Transición 2013 , Round seventeen fixtures

U. de Chile 1-2 Rangers (I. Díaz (UDC) 5′, S. Varas (RAN) 45′ & 84′)
Ñublense 2-4 A. Italiano (B. Ruiz (NUB) 5’, M. Riquero (NUB) 7’, S. Sáez (AI) 57’, C. Melivilú (AI) 65’ & 80′, G. García (AI) 72’)
O’Higgins 0-1 U. La Calera (R. Farfán (ULC) 72′)
Cobreloa 2-0 S. Wanderers (M.S. Pol (CBA) 37’, F. Pizarro (CBA) 86’)
Cobresal 3-2 Antofagasta (L. Alegría (CBS) 4′, N. Martinena (CBS) 11′ & 45+3′, E. Pulgar (ANT) 60′, J. Elizondo (ANT) 65′)
Huachipato 0-2 Palestino (J. Silva (PAL) 62′, J. Guajardo (PAL) 78′)
Everton 2-1 Iquique (C. Bogado (IQQ) 45′, L. Goux (EVE) 48′, E. Romero (EVE) 68′)
U. Española 1-0 Colo Colo (P. Rubio (UE) 73′)
SM Arica 1-2 U. Católica (R. Ramos (SMA) 45’, F. López (SMA) (og) 58’, M. Mier (UC) 90’+3’)

Photo taken from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s