Format of next tournament still up in air


The current Torneo de Transición may well be drawing to an exciting conclusion with five teams still in the hunt for the title with three rounds to go but what will follow this tournament is anyone’s guess with an ANFP meeting scheduled for May 14 set to decide on the format of the next tournament, which is set to begin in August.

There are currently three options on the table according to Radio BioBio and are as follows:

  • A return to the two short tournaments format with playoffs;
  • Two short tournaments with a liguilla featuring teams finishing second to fifth to determine who will join the champion in either the Copa Libertadores or the Copa Sudamericana.
  • One year long tournament with thirty-four rounds

There is also a fourth option which is favoured only by Rangers de Talca which is a year long tournament with a liguilla at the end to determine who plays in the Copa Libertadores or the Copa Sudamericana. El Grafico has compiled a list of which club favours which format and is as follows:

Two short tournaments with playoffs  

Deportes Iquique, Antofagasta, Audax Italiano, Palestino, Colo Colo, O’Higgins, Everton, Cobreloa, Unión La Calera, Cobresal and Santiago Wanderers.

Two short tournaments with liguilla

Universidad Católica and Unión Española.

One year long tournament

Universidad de Chile and San Marcos de Arica

One year long tournament with liguilla

Rangers de Talca

Preference unknown

Huachipato and Ñublense


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s